Ronnie Fussell, Clerk of Courts

Ronnie Fussell welcomes you to the official website of....

Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts - Duval County, Florida


Saturday, November 29, 2014

Search:

Seal of Duval County Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts
Site Navigation
Departments
Appeals
Circuit Civil
County Civil
Domestic Relations
Domestic Violence
Family Law
Felony
Finance & Accounting
Foreclosure
Human Resources
Juvenile
Jury Service
Marriage Licenses
Mental Health
Misdemeanor
Probate
Recording
Systems Management
Tax Deeds
Traffic
Public Services
Official Records
Court Records
Foreclosure Auctions
Tax Deed Auctions
Attorney Access
eFiling Information
Other Information
Administrative Orders
Ethics Compliance
External Links
Fee Schedule
Jury Service
Notary Service
Office Locations
Public Records Exemptions
Records Search
SRS Reports
Traffic Schools
Disclaimer

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS!

Duval County Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts

Ronnie Fussell - Assumed Office 2013

Marriage Licenses - General Information

In order to obtain a marriage license in Duval County, a couple must apply together, in person, at the Duval County Clerk of Courts office. The marriage license is only good within the State of Florida. Both parties must be present with their State issued ID, military ID, or passport, as well as their Social Security cards.

If either applicant has been married previously, you will need to know the exact date of divorce, death, or annulment. If the marriage ended within the last sixty (60) days, you must bring proof showing how the marriage ended.

Applicants under eighteen (18) years of age must have consent from both parents, unless a Court order has given one parent sole custody, in which case they must have consent from the parent having sole custody. The consent must be provided at the time the application for a marriage license is made. Applicants under sixteen (16) years of age must have court approval, and should contact the Clerk of Court's office for more information.

The fee for a marriage license is $93.50, and must be paid in cash only. Other forms of payment are not accepted. If both parties have taken a premarital class with a registered premarital course provider, the fee is reduced to $61.00.

Effective January 1st, 1999, there is a three (3) day waiting period for marriage licenses unless a premarital class has been taken from a registered premarital course provider. If both applicants are Non-Florida residents, then this waiting period shall be waived.

Office information

We are open Monday thru Friday, excluding Holidays. Hours for each office are listed below. If you have a question or would like more information, please contact either of our offices at:

Duval County Courthouse - Downtown
501 West Adams Street, Room 2396
Jacksonville, FL 32202
(904) 255-2000

Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Duval County Courthouse - Beaches Branch
1543 Atlantic Blvd
Neptune Beach, FL 32266
(904) 255-2000

Hours: 8:00am - 4:30pm

Issuance of marriage license

A County Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court shall issue every marriage license. The County Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court shall issue license, upon application of the license, if there appears to be no impediments to the marriage. (F.S. 741.01).

Written application required

No County Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court in this state shall issue a license for the marriage of any person present unless shall be first presented and filed with him an affidavit in writing, signed by both parties to the marriage, made and subscribed before some person authorized by law to administer an oath, reciting the true and correct ages of such parties; unless both such parties shall be over the age of 18, except as provided in F.S. 741.0405 (F.S. 741.04)

Issuance in blank prohibited

It is unlawful for any County Court Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court in the State to send out of his office any marriage license signed in blank to be issued upon application to persons not in the office of the County Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court (F.S. 741.03)

Persons authorized to solemnize matrimony

  1. All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church or other ordained clergy, all judicial officers, Clerk of the Circuit Court, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law.
  2. Any marriage which may be had and solemnized among the people called "Quakers or Friends", in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies, according to their rites and ceremonies, shall be good and valid in law; and wherever the words "minister" and "elder" are used in this chapter, they shall be held to include all of the persons connected with the Society of Friends, or Quaker, who perform or have charge of the marriage ceremony according to their rites and ceremonies.

Marriage not to be solemnized without a License

Before any of the persons named in s. 741.07 shall solemnize any marriage, he or she shall require of the parties a marriage license issued according to the requirements of s. 741.01. Making sure the ceremony is performed between the "effective" and "expiration" date.

License must be certified and filed within ten (10) days

Within ten (10) days after solemnizing the marriage he shall make a certificate thereof on the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court from which it was issued.

Time limit

The license must be used within sixty (60) days from the "effective date".

Pre-marital Course Provider List

The course provider list is sorted by last name. You may sort the list by clicking on a column header such as last name, city, Zip code, etc. If you wish to be added to or removed from this list as a course provider, please contact the Marriage License department directly for more information. If you are planning to attend a pre-marital class, please contact a course provider for more information. The fee for a pre-marital class is determined by the course provider, and is in addition to the fees relating to the marriage license itself.

Please click here to access the Pre-marital Course Provider List.



Documents & Publications

Get Adobe Reader

Click here to return to the main page