Ronnie Fussell, Clerk of Courts

Ronnie Fussell welcomes you to the official website of....

Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts - Duval County, Florida


Thursday, April 24, 2014

Search:

Seal of Duval County Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts
Site Navigation
Departments
Appeals
Circuit Civil
County Civil
Domestic Relations
Domestic Violence
Family Law
Felony
Finance & Accounting
Foreclosure
Human Resources
Juvenile
Jury Service
Marriage Licenses
Mental Health
Misdemeanor
Probate
Recording
Systems Management
Tax Deeds
Traffic
Public Services
Official Records
Court Records
Foreclosure Auctions
Tax Deed Auctions
Attorney Access
eFiling Information
Other Information
Administrative Orders
Ethics Compliance
External Links
Fee Schedule
Jury Service
Notary Service
Office Locations
Public Records Exemptions
Records Search
SRS Reports
Traffic Schools
Disclaimer

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS!

Duval County Clerk of the Circuit and County Courts

Ronnie Fussell - Assumed Office 2013

Traffic - General Information

The Traffic Violation Bureau of the Duval County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a wide variety of services, both to the public and Law Enforcement agencies. This division handles all Criminal and Civil traffic citations and marine patrol civil infractions. Citations are entered into the system and the public has the convenience of paying citations at several locations. Information regarding the payment of traffic citations and other related fines may be found on this page.

If you have a question or would like more information concerning the Traffic Division or your traffic citation, please consult our list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). The customer service phone center can be reached at (904) 255-2300 from 8:30 to 4:30, Monday - Friday. Our main office is located at the Duval County Courthouse, 501 West Adams Street, Jacksonville, Florida, our lobby hours are from 8:00am until 5:00pm, Monday - Friday, except legal holidays.

Payment of Traffic Citations

  • To prevent suspension of your Driver License, Civil citations must be complied with by the 90th day from date of issue. Proof of correction of faulty equipment (316.610) must be shown within 30 days.
  • If mailed, the envelope must be in the Clerk's Office by the 90th day from date of issuance. Postmarks are not considered. There is no grace period. Absolutely no citation payments or citation transactions of any kind may be placed in any drop box at any Tax Collector Office. Do not mail cash.
  • Civil Court dates must be requested within 90 days of the date the citation was issued. Criminal Court dates must be requested within 30 days.The FAX number to request a Court Date is (904) 255-2358.
  • You may pay your fine or school election fee by mailing the appropriate amount to: The Clerk of the Circuit Court, Traffic Violations Bureau, P.O. Box 660, Jacksonville, FL 32201.
  • Civil Traffic Violations may be paid in person at the locations listed in the table below. The locations below are closed on approved City holidays.
Civil Traffic Violation Payment Locations
Location Address Directions Hours
Traffic Violations Bureau 501 West Adams Street Located in the the Duval County Courthouse 8:00am - 5:00pm
Beaches Branch 1543 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach Located at Tradewinds Plaza, Neptune Beach 8:00am - 4:30pm

Moving Violation Information

Moving violations include speeding, running stop signs, careless driving, etc. Payable moving or non-moving citations may be paid by personal check, cashier's check, money order or cash. (DO NOT SEND CASH BY MAIL)

Options to comply with these citations are:

  1. Set Court Date within 90 days from the date the citation was issued by: appearing in person, requesting by fax, requesting by mail (please provide a self-addressed stamped envelope), or on our Traffic Citation System.
  2. Enter a plea of guilty and pay the fine required by law (see "Schedule of Fines" below). If the incorrect amount has been entered on the back of your yellow copy in error, the correct fee required by Florida statute must be collected.
  3. Elect Driver Improvement School, if eligible. Complete driving school, then bring or mail in your proof of completion certificate and Driver Improvement election fee within 90 days from the date of the citation.
    • You are eligible to elect Driving School five times in a lifetime and only one time in a twelve month period, counted by date of election, not by the date you attended the school.
    • If you elect school by mail, the school packet for registration will be returned to you by mail within 10 days. Please call if you do not receive it. If you elect in person, you will be given instructions then. School Election fees must be paid to the Clerk's Office before registration fee is paid to Driver Improvement School.

IMPORTANT - IF YOU WISH TO ATTEND DRIVING SCHOOL, IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY WITHIN 90 DAYS TO:

  • Determine your eligibility to attend Driving School (as stated above).
  • Attend the Driving School of your choice.
  • Present the certificate of Driving School completion to the Clerk's Office to assure credit for completion.
  • Pay the Driving School election fee to the Clerk's Office.

Schedule of fines on Civil Traffic Infractions

Traffic fines increases shown below are effective January 18, 2011
Child restraint $164.00    
Moving violations $164.00  


Exceeding posted speed
Over limit by Exceeding Posted Speed In School/Construction Zone
1 - 9 mph $129.00 $154.00
10 - 14 mph $204.00 $304.00
15 - 19 mph $254.00 $404.00
20 - 29 mph $279.00 $454.00
30+ mph Mandatory Court Appearance

Fees for violations in a school or special hazard (construction) zone will double the fine amounts.

Pedestrian & Bicycle (for persons 14 years of age or less) - $62.50

Driver Improvement School

  • You may elect school for moving violations allowing defendant to receive a Withhold of Adjudication and not receive points if the defendant has not made an election within the prior twelve months nor more than five elections in a lifetime. You cannot elect driver improvement school if you are a CDL holder.
  • Effective February 1, 2009 - Pursuant to SB 12A; Florida Statute 318.14(9) you can no longer receive an 18% reduction for school elections. If you elect Driver Improvement School you will receive a withhold of adjudication and no points will be applied to your driving record.
  • Please remember that your school completion must be returned to the Clerk of Courts Traffic Violations Bureau upon completion.
  • In addition to a registration fee at the driver improvement school (which varies), the following fees apply (includes $7.00 affidavit fee):
Exceeding posted speed
Over limit by Exceeding Posted Speed In School/Construction Zone
1 - 9 mph $136.00 $161.00
10 - 14 mph $211.00 $311.00
15 - 19 mph $261.00 $411.00
20 - 29 mph $286.00 $461.00
30+ mph Mandatory Court Appearance

Traffic Schools

For your convenience, we have provided a list of traffic schools that have provided us with their website addresses.

Nonmoving Violations

Nonmoving Violations: $114.00

Compliances Violations:
  1. No valid driver's license - expired less than four (4) months
  2. No valid registration
  3. No valid tag

    • $111.00
    • $96.25 - Clerk withhold

  4. No valid insurance

    • $114.00
    • $99.25 - Clerk withhold

DISMISSAL - $10.00, if valid prior to date of citation and presented to the Clerk of Courts within 30 days of the citation.

Equipment corrected within 30 days (on certain equipment) Statute 316.610 - $98.00 & no points.

Mandatory court appearances

  • Leaving a child in an unattended vehicle
  • Accident involving a serious bodily injury
  • Accident involving a fatality
  • Speed 30+ MPH in excess of posted speed limits

Traffic court: Duval County Courthouse - 501 West Adams Street

POINTS ON LICENSE:

  • 12 points in 12 months - license suspended 30 days
  • 18 points in 18 mos. - license suspended 90 days

Payment of civil traffic fines by credit card over the telephone

(Fee: $9.95)

Credit Card Payment Instructions
Visa or Master Card

  1. Call 1-904-255-2390
  2. Press 2
  3. Enter your citation number.
  4. Enter credit card number and expiration date.
    • Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
    • The system will give you a verbal receipt.
    • There is a $9.95 fee for using this service.

Any civil traffic fine requiring proof of compliance or which is late must be paid by mail or in person, and cannot be paid online or by phone.

Payment of civil traffic fines using the internet

Payment by Internet using a credit card:

Any civil traffic fine requiring proof of compliance or which is late must be paid by mail or in person, and cannot be paid online or by phone.

Payment Plan Information

Criminal Traffic and Civil Traffic infraction - $25.00 initial setup plus first month and any applicable late fees.

Any missed payment will result in a late fee or a suspension of license.

After the second missed payment the remaining fee amount must be paid in full.

Reinstatements

The Clerk's Office is now reinstating the license with at a charge of $60.00. You may be eligible for reinstatement, please contact Traffic Violations Bureau for eligibility request.

Traffic Mailing Address:

Please use the following mailing address for correspondence with the County Traffic department unless otherwise specified.

Ronnie Fussell, Clerk of Courts

Traffic Violations Bureau

P.O. BOX 660

Jacksonville, Florida 32201


Frequently Asked Questions -

  • What is a Civil Traffic Infraction?
  • What are the procedures for handling a citation for failure to carry or display a driver’s license, registration, and/or a license tag?
  • What are the procedures for handling a citation for failure to carry proof of insurance?
  • Which citations require a mandatory court appearance?
  • How do I obtain a court continuance for my civil traffic citation?
  • How can I get my driver’s license reinstated?
  • How do I obtain a record search of my driving record in order to obtain a hardship license?
  • Can I pay my out of county traffic citation at a Duval County Clerk’s Office?
  • What should I do if I have a change of address?
  • What forms of payment are acceptable for a traffic citation?
  • Can I pay my city parking citation at the Duval County Clerk Office?
  • Can I obtain an affidavit to go to defensive driving school in Duval County if my citation was issued by another county?
  • Does attending defensive driving school keep the citation off my driving record?
  • Can I elect to attend defensive driving school after I have paid my citation?
  • Does attending defensive driving school keep my insurance rates down?
  • Where can I find a list of defensive driving schools?
  • Will the defensive driving school notify the Duval County Clerk’s Office when I have completed the class?
  • How can I obtain a copy of a driver's license search?
  • What are my options for disposing of a traffic civil citation?


Click here to return to the main page