Skip To Navigation Exiting Navigation - Marriage License
County Services

Marriage License

Any couple wanting to get married in Florida may apply for a license through our office.


The Clerk’s Office offers several convenient options to apply for your marriage license.

  1. DUVAL COUNTY COURTHOUSE (501 W. Adams Street)

    • Walk-in applications ONLY. Join the line onsite using the QR code available in the lobby of the marriage license department.

    • Walk-in applications available. Join the line onsite using either the QR code available in the front window or at the self-service kiosk as you first enter the branch
    • Appointments scheduled in advance. To schedule your appointment, please complete the eMarriage Pre-Application as described below on this page.

Residents of Florida who apply for a marriage license have a choice: you can wait three days for the license to become effective, or you can attend a premarital preparation course from a registered provider waiving the three-day waiting period. If you would like to attend one of these premarital courses, a directory of course providers is available at all court locations. Please note that the Marriage License Department does not offer this course. We invite you to visit our online Premarital Course Provider Search to locate a registered provider near you. (Please see clerk for certificate requirements.)

If you're not a resident of Florida, there is no waiting period.

Marriage License Requirements

There are two basic requirements for getting a marriage license:

  • Both parties (spouse 1 and spouse 2) must apply in person at the same time.
  • There are two forms of identification that may be required, described below.
  1. The first form of identification required is a valid photo identification issued by the federal or state government. The photo identification must have the correct legal name, date of birth and signature of the applicant.

    The following valid proofs of photo identifications are accepted:
    • Driver's license (U.S. state or government)
    • Passport
    • U.S. military identification
    • State identification card (U.S. state or government)
    • Alien registration card
  2. If an applicant has been issued a Social Security number, they will need to provide that number as part of the application process. Please note you do NOT need to bring a copy of the social security card, but just need to provide the number.

    Any person who is not a citizen of the U.S. may provide either a Social Security number (if one has been issued) or an alien registration number, if one has been issued. If neither has been issued, another form of identification may be required.

Here are a few other things it will be helpful to know:

  • No blood tests are required.
  • You do not need to be a resident of this county or of Florida to obtain a marriage license.
  • Marriage licenses are valid only for ceremonies taking place anywhere in the State of Florida within 60 days of the date of issue.
  • By law, the Family Law Handbook must be read before you get a marriage license. It is available for viewing on this page.
  • If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, death or annulment must be provided.  The actual document DOES NOT need to be provided.


Marriage license and application: $86.00

Discounted marriage license and application (available after completion of a premarital preparation course by a registered counselor, with proof that the course was taken): $61.00


Appointments can be made for an in-person session at the Clerk’s Beaches Branch (1543 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach FL 32266). 

Using the eMarriage Pre-Application System:

  1. Read the disclaimer, simply completing the online form does not mean you are married.
  2. Enter information in all the required fields and submit. Your information will go into the Clerk's queue.
  3. Within 60 days of completing the online application, both parties must come together to apply with proper identification and form of payment.
  4. Per Florida Statute 741.04(4)(b), you must verify that both parties have read our Marriage License Handbook

COMPLETE THE eMarriage Pre-Application HERE

After completing, you will be able to schedule your in-person appointment.

Waiting Period

The mandatory three-day waiting period for Florida residents may be waived if the couple attends a premarital course from a registered provider and presents a certificate of completion when applying for a license. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.

Discounted License

Both residents and non-residents of Florida may receive a $25.00 discount on their marriage license by completing a premarital course. The course must be completed no more than one year before the date you apply for a marriage license. Please note that both parties must attend the course, and a certificate of completion must be presented at the time of application to be eligible for the discount.

Getting Copies of Marriage Licenses

To view a marriage license recorded in Duval County since 1988, you can simply search the online  Official Record of Duval County. Uncertified copies may be downloaded and printed on your own printer for free. If you’d like a certified copy, please contact or visit the Official Records and Research Department in room 1253 or call (904) 255-2025. We’ll be glad to help you.

If your license was obtained in another county or state, please note that you’ll have to search the records in that county or state. The Bureau of Vital Statistics houses all marriage licenses issued in Florida and is located at:

Bureau of Vital Statistics
1217 N. Pearl St.
Jacksonville, FL 32202

Phone: (904)359-6900

Name Changes on Other Documents

If your marriage involves a change of name or address, please remember to notify the following agencies:

  • Local Social Security office
  • Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Division of Driver Licenses
  • Supervisor of Elections (voter registration)
  • Military Reserve Commanding Officer

Frequently Asked Questions

Who may apply for a marriage license?
Who may apply for a marriage license?
  • Any person age 18 or older
  • A minor whose parents are deceased and who has no appointed guardian
  • Minors who, under oath, swear that they are parents or expectant parents of a child can petition a judge to issue a license. A pregnancy must be confirmed by a licensed physician.
  • A previously married minor
  • A person age 17 with parental or guardian consent

Please Note: If any person is a minor, both parents must give consent unless the parents are divorced and the custody and control of the child is placed with one parent. All written consents must be notarized, a task that can be performed at the Clerk's Office for a fee of $7.00. If divorced, the parent must present a certified copy of the divorce papers.

What do I need to apply for a marriage license?
What do I need to apply for a marriage license?
  • If the parties applying for a license have children together that were born in Florida, they must fill out the Affirmation of Children Born in Florida form (DH743A).
  • Both parties must apply together in person.
  • Each party must show a valid driver's license, a valid state identification card, a valid passport or valid military identification.
  • Both parties must provide their Social Security numbers.
  • If either party has been previously married, the party must provide the date his or her last marriage ended.
  • Couples are required by law to read the Family Law Handbook supplied by the clerk and sign a statement acknowledging that they have done so before applying for the license
What is the fee for a marriage license?
What is the fee for a marriage license?

The fee is $86.00, but it can be reduced by $25.00 if you provide proof that you took a premarital preparation course (this applies to Florida residents only).

How can I pay for my marriage license?
How can I pay for my marriage license?

We accept the following forms of payment:

  • Cash, money order or cashier's check (payable to the Duval County Clerk of Courts)
  • MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express (with a 3.5% surcharge added)

The Clerk’s Office does not accept personal checks.

Is there a waiting period for a marriage license?
Is there a waiting period for a marriage license?

Yes, for Florida residents. Marriage license applications are issued the same day as requested as long as all requirements are met. But there is a 3-day waiting period to be married for couples who live in Florida but do not provide proof that they have completed a premarital preparation course.

A couple claiming hardship can petition a judge to waive the three-day waiting period.

There is no waiting period for non-residents.

When do I take the premarital preparation course?
When do I take the premarital preparation course?

You can take it any time within one year prior to applying for a license.

Who is qualified to be a provider of a premarital preparation course?
Who is qualified to be a provider of a premarital preparation course?
  • A psychologist licensed under Chapter 490, Florida Statutes
  • A clinical social worker licensed under Chapter 491, Florida Statutes
  • A marriage and family therapist licensed under Chapter 491, Florida Statutes
  • A mental-health counselor licensed under Chapter 491, Florida Statutes
  • An official representative of a religious institution that is recognized under Florida Statute 496.404(20), if the representative has relevant training
  • Any other provider designated by a judicial circuit, including but not limited to school counselors who are certified to offer such courses

You can find a provider by using our online premarital course provider search.

Where can I apply for a marriage license in Duval County?
Where can I apply for a marriage license in Duval County?

We will be happy to help you Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., at the following Clerk's Offices:

  • Duval County Courthouse, 501 West Adams Street, Room 2403, in downtown Jacksonville
  • 1543 Atlantic Blvd, Neptune Beach
Who may perform the ceremony?
Who may perform the ceremony?

The following officials are authorized by Florida law to perform marriage ceremonies:

  • Ordained clergy
  • Elders in communion with a church
  • All Florida judges
  • Notaries public of the State of Florida

The law also provides that ceremonies may be performed among Quakers or "Friends" in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.

Can a marriage be solemnized without a license?
Can a marriage be solemnized without a license?

No. Section 741.08, Florida Statutes, states that the party solemnizing the marriage must have a properly issued license before performing the ceremony.

Who should return the license to the clerk, and when should they do it?
Who should return the license to the clerk, and when should they do it?

A marriage cannot be officially recorded until the license is returned to the Clerk’s Office. The completed license should be returned within 10 days of the wedding. While the presider is ultimately responsible for returning the license, it may be returned to the Clerk’s Office by anyone.

Office Information

Marriage License Department

Office Hours
Monday through Friday (excluding holidays): 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Note: Because of processing times, couples wishing to apply for a marriage license must arrive at the Marriage License Department no later than 4:30 p.m. (Please allow 30 minutes to complete the application process.)

Mailing Address
Duval County Clerk of Courts
501 West Adams Street, Room 2403
Jacksonville, FL 32202

(904) 255-2000

Search Results Close
Exit Search Popup